Author Topic: Two PB's in Two Days 7/10-7/11  (Read 3129 times)

xjchad

• Soupfin
    • View Profile
Two PB's in Two Days 7/10-7/11
« on: July 12, 2017, 12:57:43 AM »
7/10
This week my wife and kids are out at her parents house so I'm living the bachelor life again.
That means I fish as much as I can!  8)
Monday after work I met my dad at the usual AO and we waited for the beach to clear.  Conditions were perfect.  Very low surf, no current, only a little weeds close in.  Once the beach goers cleared out of our spot we got set up.  We were both planning to fish 2 rods each to maximize our chances.  The secondary rod that I'm using is my second attempt to delve into the world of conventional gear.  It's a Penn 4/0 wide reel mounted on a Daiwa Emcast XH casting rod.  My goal was to build a set up that was cheap, but could handle very big fish.  This is the first time I've used it for a full session.  I'm still learning to cast it consistently, but was able to get 60 yards or so with minimal backlashing.  The 4/0 is spooled with 80lb braid and the terminal rig is an 8oz sputnik on a 3 way rig with a 400lb steel leader and 16/0 hook. 

I had a half of a large mac soaking on it for about 20 minutes or so when the rod started to bow and the clicker started screaming.  That's one thing I love about conventional reels is the loud clicker.  Anyway, I tightened the drag to get the circle hook set and this bat took off pulling like a frieght train.  It headed south, tangling with the lines of 2 of our other rods and big clump of floating kelp.  My dad was all over the place reeling in the tangled rods and untangling the lines and the kelp.  Finally got it to the skinny where dad dragged it up the beach.  What a beast, I thought I was in the 50" club for sure, but ended up and inch short at 49".  I'm still pretty excited to have a new PB bat though!

Unfortunately, that was it for the night.  I had one other good hit that didn't connect, but took a nice chunk out of my mac.